October 20, 2017, 12:04:08 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: EM rules question  (Read 410 times)

Escape

  • Roboteer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
EM rules question
« on: December 29, 2016, 01:24:48 am »
If I had a weapon that used electromagnets not to disrupt electronics, but as an unusual grabber, would it be allowed?

Coboxite

  • Roboteer
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Made with real lemons
    • View Profile
Re: EM rules question
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2016, 02:17:10 am »
Legal, but probably useless.

Escape

  • Roboteer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: EM rules question
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2016, 04:48:59 am »
Just wait

TeamAstroBot

  • Roboteer
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile
    • Team AstroBot
Re: EM rules question
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2016, 08:48:45 am »
Glad most of my materials are aluminum & plastic!  ;)

zacodonnell

  • Roboteer
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
    • View Profile
Re: EM rules question
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2016, 10:52:41 pm »
I think it would be allowed as long as you could release the other robot on command also.  As others have pointed out, a magnet will only work on materials that respond to large magnetic fields (like iron) and will not work on aluminum or plastic.  There is a lot more steel in use in the larger weight classes (30lb and up) but if you're looking at 3lb and below then it might be tough to make an effective setup.

I'm using a giant electromagnet in my sportsman Magneato... but it's not to grab the other bot so much as hurl them through the air, and I'm not sure it's gonna work yet.

-Zac