September 20, 2017, 10:44:17 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Team Tamper Resistant  (Read 1694 times)

echin

• Roboteer
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
Team Tamper Resistant
« on: August 21, 2016, 03:34:45 pm »
Hi all,

I've been involved in FIRST for a long time, but I'm new to combat robotics and have been lurking around SPARC for a while. I hope to make it to make it to as many events in the north east as possible.

Current bot:

Event Horizon:
Beetleweight

I'll post build logs here as I build more bots:  http://ericwchin.blogspot.com/

Team whanton2

• Roboteer
    • View Profile
Re: Team Tamper Resistant
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2016, 06:53:22 pm »
Jealous of your facilities. How much does a cnc router like your's cost? Can it cut parts as big as 5",18",1"

echin

• Roboteer
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2016, 08:40:28 pm »
I believe it was in the $1500 range from Ebay (shipped from China). It could definitely handle 5 x 18 x 1, I think the max working volume is something like 16 x 24 x 3, though I don't remember the Z axis height. I only cut plates on it due to the bed not being flat. The only modification made to it was re-working the stepper drivers to eliminate the occasional step skipping caused by poor board layout.

jamisong

• Roboteer
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2016, 01:00:33 am »
Logged in just to say, NIIIIIIICE! Look forward to meeting you at an event!

AmbientChaos

• Roboteer
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2016, 10:44:29 pm »
Huh, I never would have thought about using a router to cut aluminum plates. I'll have to file that away for possible future usage.

Badnik96

• Roboteer
  • Team Ignition
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2016, 01:52:56 am »
That is a very solid looking machine. Hopefully you can come out to an event at some point and break it in c:
TEAM IGNITION
FireArrow (Antweight) 23-11
Nocturne (Beetleweight) 5-10 (Retired)